Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time and have health problems as a result. Why do so many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

In today’s competitive world, people have less time to themselves due to a number of commitments. Therefore, they hardly find the time to workout for pursuing a healthy lifestyle. This essay will examine the root causes of this grave problem and suggest practical solutions. To begin with, since time immemorial, humans have always been busy with the necessities of life such as working on a farm, taking care of children, building a house or tent to live in, and tending to the livestock. Owing to technological and industrial advancements, new jobs have emerged and according to a recent academic study conducted by the University of Toronto, 90% of the current contemporary world jobs are done online via computers, tablets and smartphones. Despite the fact that this should lead to adults’ having more time to themselves, it is actually the opposite as these works are more demanding and they mostly require employees to be available at all times. Companies and governments can tackle this problem by regulating the rules and introducing new laws to ensure work -life balance. A new work approach, which is called four day work week, has been implemented and tested in many countries and a number of public and private surveys point out that working only 4 days a week has contributed greatly to employees’ quality of life by allowing them to focus on other activities to improve their health and decreased their stress levels. Companies can make health-related initiatives for the employees such as providing discounts on gym memberships, organizing company-wide health activities, encouraging the use of bicycles to commute by giving allowances, and joining running events, and marathons. In conclusion, people do not have enough time to work out given the fact that modern work life is demanding them to be online most of the time during the week and on the weekends. Nonetheless, governmental bodies can change the course of this problem positively by introducing new laws that regulate work -life balance and companies can promote being healthier by making initiatives that would encourage employees to be more active.