More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a significant upward trend of people overweight. Some sectors of society are in favour of increasing the price of the most caloric food to prevent people from this major problem. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea as the price will not stop from people buying these kinds of comestible. Subsequently, I consider that people need to be better educated in having healthier habits. To begin with, increasing the price of fatty food will not stop people from consuming them. For example, statistics show that the main reason for obesity is anxiety and depression. People that are sad and depressed feel that they really need to eat this kind of food, in which case price will not be precisely a barrier for them as they would pay any amount of money in order to get it to satisfy this negative emotion they feel. On the other hand, increasing the price of selected products would be unfair to people who are not obese and that want to enjoy their meals with something fatty. In this case, this would be discriminatory for these people, while the overweight problem would still exist. In other words, increasing the price will not prevent people from obesity as the problem is deeper than just paying a bit more but also will impact negatively on people's pockets who only want to enjoy these comestibles. In conclusion, we cannot deny that this tendency of people to increase considerably their weight is a critical problem for societies. However, I completely disagree with the “possible” solution of putting higher prices on fattening foods. Instead of this, I consider that governments should attend to this problem for real through educative chats and programs in schools and other institutions.