More and more people are expected to be living in urban centers in the future. What probels will this cause? Should the government encourage people to settle outside the city?

It is predicted that city populations will continue to soar as people are drawn by the lure of opportunity. This, however, may lead to serious issues, particularly in terms of overcrowding and land degradation. In this essay, I will examine these problems and explain why, despite them, do not agree with the idea of encouraging people to move to regional areas instead. There are two main issues that may stem from the rise in city populations. The first is simply overcrowding. Clearly, more people in one place will mean more competition for jobs, housing, and space, as well as more pressure on infrastructure like hospitals and transport systems. These problems in turn may lead to others such as homelessness, slums, severe stress and related health issues for residents The other major concern related to the growth of cities is the environmental impact not only will the air be polluted by the increase in traffic, but more waste will be produced and more land deforested to make way for urban sprawl and farmland. As Melbourne grows for instance, vast tracts of bushland including delicate habitats and ecosystems are already being turned into farms and housing estates. Despite these concerns, in my view, the answer does not lie in encouraging people to move out of the city. In fact, doing so would simply push the problem into rural areas. If, for instance, Melburnians were pushed into Geelong or Ballarat, the problems would simply be relocated tooStreets would be overcrowded, the environment would be degraded and so on. Instead, the government should work on making cities better places to live. In Malmo, Sweden, for example, buses are powered by food scraps and the majority of travel is done on bicycle, thanks to the extensive bike path network with such innovative thinking and smart investment, the high-density cities of tomorrow could be green, efficient and comfortable. In conclusion, as cities grow, some problems are unavoidable. in order to minimize them, the authorities need to plan ahead and make cities smarter