In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this a positive or negative thing?

Over the last decades, the number of people who reside in rural areas has decreased due to the migration of a large proportion of individuals to metropolises. I believe it has both drawbacks and benefits. Moving from the countryside to big cities has several benefits for immigrants. First of all, in urban areas, job opportunities are more than in rural areas. Many factories and building industries need manual labourers and pay a good amount of money, and this is a great chance for those who are coming from rural areas, especially those who do not have academic education to get a job and have income. For example, my brother who lived in our village could get a part-time job in a clothing store on the weekend. Moreover, nearly all universities and colleges are located in big cities, so people from rural areas can continue their education and have promising future prospects. In many rural communities, there is not even a secondary school, as a result, children have to walk or ride for a long distance to go to a secondary school in the nearest town. It can be seen that moving to big cities is beneficial for youngsters. However, there are some negative aspects of leaving villages and starting a new life in cities. The first reason is that the majority of these people are young, and their parents continue living in the countryside. Many of these old people are suffering from chronic diseases and could not work effectively on their farms. Therefore, they cannot run their local businesses and have to sell their homes and lands and join their children. Obviously, the transition would not be very smooth and easy for older adults and might impact their psychological health, causing depression or anxiety disorders. For instance, my grandparents had problems with living in an apartment because they lived on a huge farm in our village. In addition to this, most big cities are facing overgrowing population. The influx of more people would exaggerate the issues such as rental rates and traffic which make life harder for those who are dwelling in capital cities. In conclusion, leaving rural areas and starting a new life in big cities has both positive and negative effects. Increasing job opportunities and possibilities of continuing education are the bright sides of this event, while elderlies’ difficulties in managing their rural tasks and adaptation to urbanization are the dark sides of this journey. I recommend that by building industrial factories in rural areas, we can decrease immigration to urban areas.