Many people like to eat unhealthy food even though they know that it is bad for them. Why is this the cause? What measures can effectively improve people’s unhealthy eating habits?

It is undeniable that the public mostly loves unhealthy food over healthy ones despite knowing they are detrimental to health. Although several causes are behind this issue, appropriate steps could be taken to change the unhealthy food habit of people. To start with, the primary reason for the general public preferring unhygienic food is the availability as well as their attractive tastes and colours. In the urban areas, for example, plenty of fast food outlets are very popular and people easily allure to that food items and access them. The secondary reason for dependency on unhealthy food is a shortage of time. Most of the urban people are busy with their hectic work schedule and therefore, they lack time to prepare homemade healthy food options for them. Hence, they do not have other options rather than the unhealthy food of restaurants. One effective solution could be the implementation of proper measures to sell healthy food options to people instead of unhealthy ones. For example, if government policies could be set such as all restaurants should serve food which is beneficial for public health, that might be a useful solution. Furthermore, public campaigns from several organizations might be helpful regarding this issue. Numerous organizations could come forward to raise awareness among general people about the harmfulness of unhealthy food. For instance, renowned companies and organizations who have strong influence and popularity among the public can participate in campaigns. Because of those campaigns, the public might try to enhance their food habits. To conclude, unhealthy food obviously cause a harmful effect on public health however, people love it because of their availability. But this habit could be improved if people by themselves become cautious about its effect and encourage to change their habit.