Some people believe that smart phones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Irrefutably, there has been a rapid change in our societies since the evolution of mobile phones, globally. However, some individuals believe that smartphones are impacting socialisation among the masses. I fervently believe that owing to the presence of mobile phones people fail to appreciate real-life relationships as well as family time. I shall discuss the same in forthcoming paragraphs. To commence with, there are rational factors, which are associated with why mobile phones lead towards the destructive evolution of our society. Firstly, individuals are widening the social gap owing to the presence of mobile phones. For instance, people do not spend quality time with their loved ones and avoid socialising,, instead they keep themselves occupied using the internet on their mobile phones. To be more specific, augmentation in the rate of divorces in Canada or other developed nations is also due to the dearth of time spent together by couples. Because they prefer using mobile phones over interacting with a person who is physically present. Furthermore, adults these days are indulged in the usage of multiple applications like Instagram, youtube, Facebook, Netflix, etcetera; therefore, they give priority to watching content online instead of spending time with family members. For example, even during excursions, picnics, trips, and parties, people keep on uploading current pictures, videos and statuses on social media; therefore, this acts as a barrier to maintaining relationships. Moreover, mobile phones have widened the generation gap, as youngsters do not enjoy gaining knowledge from their parents and grandparents, because they can conveniently find all the information on their smartphones. To conclude, I strongly believe that the invention of mobile phones is an obtuse approach as it can destroy relationships between family members as well as friends due to lack of time and importance given to loved ones. Also, the generation gap has widened, as exchanging thoughts and experiences between different age groups is no longer cherished by the modern generation.