Some people believe charity organization should only offer help to people of their own countries. Others claim that these organizations should give aid to people in great need wherever they live. Discuss both opinions and tell which side do you agree?

Certain individuals believe that charity organisations must only work in their countries of origin, while others imagine that these institutions must operate based on need. This essay agrees with the second opinion because it supports giving aid to those who need it the most. The first view supports non-governmental organisations to only help people in their own countries. This view is influenced, in part, by local tax-payers who believe that their contributions, which form development aid, need to be used internally instead of being externalised to other countries. To support this argument, one can use the example of Turkey, whose organisations have traditionally been helping other nations with aid, but suddenly became in dire need of help due to the emergence of an earthquake. If the country had saved up resources to support local challenges, its organisations would have responded more swiftly to the earthquake. However, this essay disagrees with this viewpoint because these countries do not experience challenges every day. In contrast, therefore, it makes more sense to give aid to people in greater need despite where they live. Since every other country in the world could require need at any time, it is more prudent to support humanitarian assistance being offered on a need-basis. This helps to prioritise development aid and respond efficiently to crises. For instance, Turkey was assisted by many other countries during the earthquake and this eased the workload of Turkish humanitarian institutions. They received food, clothes, human resources and many other forms of help, which the local organisations could not afford on their own. Hence, it is more justified for these institutions to operate as a collective. In conclusion, the essay argues and agrees that it is better for aid organisations to function based on need than geographical location because this helps to prioritise needs and respond swiftly. This view is opposed to localising assistance only to donor countries.