In some countries today, many people decide to have their first child when they are older. What are the reasons? Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years there is a tendency that many young individuals to choose to have their first child at a later age. This may stem from many reasons and from my viewpoint, the advantages do outweigh the drawbacks of this trend. The following essay will discuss my point of view. To begin with, many people want to have their first child at an older age may due to a tremendous number of benefits. Firstly, young people need time to develop their careers in order to be financially stable to marry and raise a kid. As an illustration, if a child is born into a family with adequate financial conditions, the child shall be benefited from quality education and healthcare. Secondly, besides the reasons for finance and career, young people also want to enjoy personal freedom before settling down and having kids. This trend can be seen in many countries in recent years, which resulted in many children being born at their parents’ later stage in life. Regarding the pros and cons, the drawbacks of this trend may outweigh the benefits in many aspects. Having the first kid at an older age may cause a high chance of birth defects due to the health conditions that relate to the reproductive health of women at the time. Children born in such conditions may suffer disabilities namely deaf, blindness or some other defects. This may cause a number of difficulties in raising the children. Meanwhile, the later the child is born, the larger the generation gap, which leads to the fact that parents may not understand their children and vice versa. As a result, misunderstandings in many degrees will occur several times in families' life. To conclude, despite the financial advantages, I suppose the downsides of the tendency are more serious and disadvantageous.