In some countries, more people choose to live by themselves in recent years. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development for society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a large number of nations, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of people who tend to lead an independent lifestyle. This essay will initially outline the causes of this phenomenon, followed by a presentation of evidence to support my firm conviction that it is an adverse trend. There are primarily two factors behind people's tendency to live solitarily. To begin with, people expect more private space. Some are interested in reading books and writing stories, while others have a passion for singing or composing music pieces. However, if they live with their family, they will be disturbed frequently, preventing them from enjoying their time. Furthermore, some individuals fail to get along well with their family members. Young people, for instance, have formed the habit of sleeping late and waking up late which is thought of as an extremely unhealthy lifestyle by their parents. This makes the younger generation move out, and those who secure a stable economic source will buy their own property independently. In my opinion, this trend is detrimental to the wider community. The first point to consider is that living a solitary life may lead to a rise in housing prices. This is mainly because the more people choose to live on their own, the more houses are required. As a result, demand will exceed supply which entails people spending more on rent and mortgages. In addition, society may lack talents who have developed teamwork and social skills. When living alone for a long time, people might rarely communicate with others, becoming isolated and emotionally immature as well as unwilling to cooperate with others. In conclusion, individuals’ pursuit of more privacy and their poor relationship with their families are the two major reasons for them to live independently. However, I strongly believe it is not wise to encourage people to live by themselves. For one thing, housing prices will rise considerably; for another, society may suffer from a dearth of people without collaborative abilities.