In many countries the proportion of old people is steadily increasing. some think this is good, while others believe this is a problem for a country. discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has long been common sense that birth rates, especially in some developed nations, have been diminishing since the Baby Boom after the World War. Consequently, the proportion of the elderly has been increasing due to lacking newborns which brings up both advantages and disadvantages. This essay will explore the perspectives and present my opinions. Let us begin with the merits of more ageing people, of which the most valuable is the practical experience that they can provide. The elderly usually possess the knowledge of how to apply abstract theories to various specific situations thereby obtaining expected results. This capacity sometimes can even save millions of lives. One well-known example is those retired engineers living in Fukushima, a seaside city in Japan, where they prevented an atomic generator from exploding. In that event, except for these elderly people, nobody was experienced enough to repair the damages caused by a tsunami within 20 hours. Without these retired engineers, it is inconceivable what could have happened. From the instance abovementioned, it is not difficult to perceive the importance of the elderly for a society. Nevertheless, excessively old population can also lead to some serious issues, one of which is the overwhelming burden of petition on the country's finances. With the constant decrease of the young, the ratio of the elderly to labour has rapidly increased and makes many governments grossly worried. To illustrate, Heilongjiang, a province in the northeast of China, has been struggling to raise funds for distributing petitions in recent years since there is not sufficient labour to contribute to petitions. To sum up, the elderly indeed irreplaceable in some circumstances, particularly concerned with specific experiences. However, too large an elderly population imposes a heavy burden on the country's finance and medical system. In view of this, I personally regard the excessive old population as a issue to be addressed. If the government does not bring up effective and practical schemes, the elderly who could have been a valuable asset can also be the last straw on the nation's finances.