In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the average lifespan of people increased in most of the countries compared to the past. Some people believe it is an advantage because they can increase the wisdom among the society. I believe disadvantages outweigh advantages because it has a negative impact on countries ' economies. People who think this situation is an advantage for population often argue that aged people can pass their wisdom to young individuals. These people are full of knowledge because they are living for a long time which elderly population can use this information to improve the quality of life among the society. Although modern world is quite different from the period they spent most of their life, still they can useful for fixing the problems inside of the society. For example, retired individuals can spend their leisure time at schools to teach children valuable manners and ethics. Despite the understandable reason why people consider ageing as an advantage, I believe it creates plenty of problems to economies of countries. One of these problems is authorities should pay huge amounts of pensions to retired old people. Also, there are great numbers of aged individuals with various kinds of illnesses in society that the pension they receive is not enough for medication. However, governments should implement policies for treatment of these people and they have to spend a great deal of cash. For example, in many countries, governments pay extra money for aged people with disabilities and mental problems. The increasing number of aged people with these problems causes a fall in the amount of funds in budget. In conclusion, while there is advantage of having more old people in society, the economic problems it can cause to governments is more serious. This is the reason why the advantages of ageing population do not outweigh its disadvantages.