Living in large cities today poses many problems for people. What are these problems? Should governments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

Nowadays more crowds are inhibiting in big cities than before and it has created issues such as overcrowding and a rise in the cost of living. In my opinion, governments ought to take measures to make living outside cities more attractive namely, introducing tax breaks to individuals or companies willing to relocate to rural areas; in addition to increasing interest rates in big cities in order to counter inflation. There are two clear problems with living in large cities. First of all, extreme overcrowding has caused significant discomfort for the citizens of metropolitans like Newyork or Tokyo. As a result, numerous traffic jams have appeared and experiencing extensive pollution of all kinds such as air and noise, has become citizens' routine. For Example, in the 1980s, Newyork city was notorious for its contaminated and rat-infested streets, and the main reason for this was the overpopulation of the city. Secondly, most of the communities in these places suffer from high prices. Any individual living in metropolitans has to deal with not only additional costs but also more expensive items than in small towns or rural areas. A city dweller, for instance, has to bear longer travelling distances and consequently spends much more on commuting expenses. By contrast, the public from a town or the countryside can even travel their distances on foot. However, governments have a number of tools to address these issues. The overpopulation of cities can be tackled by giving tax incentives to people or enterprises who are willing to move to outer city places. This can alleviate overcrowding and pollution so long as people agree to relocate out of the city and become residents of that new place; otherwise, these problems will continue to exist. Furthermore, a higher cost of living can be addressed by making loans harder to get i.e., raising interest rates. By doing so, specifically companies and businesses would lack sufficient finances for their tasks; So, eventually, this may slow down inflation. Hence, the prevention of loans being taken by companies and individuals from a bank is an effective mechanism for easing costs. In conclusion, while there are multiple issues with living in large cities to name but a few, overcrowding and high cost of living, the government is able to facilitate or even eradicate these difficulties by giving tax breaks to those who want to leave the city, and further, raising interest rates.