Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In today's world, there is a rise in the usage of e-commerce platforms. Consumers are attracted to online shopping platforms because of the convenience and also the cheap prices they provide. In this essay, I will discuss how purchasing unwanted items can affect the environment and also the jobs required in the Information technology field and also in the courier service industry. Online shopping can be convenient but it can impact the environment if customers don't shop responsibly and end up wasting resources.These days, goods are available at very cheap prices compared to offline stores. In some cases, these discounted prices can trigger consumers to purchase more items than required and they end up throwing the unwanted items. A recent article published by the Times of India, explains how discounted prices for bags can encourage consumers to purchase more than ended and waste money and also they end up not using the purchased bags frequently. However, e-commerce platforms have increased employment opportunities and also improved the economy of countries where the usage of online shopping platforms is more. For example, courier services have to employ more delivery persons to meet the delivery expectations of a huge number of orders in a few days. Additionally, software professionals have to be employed to develop and maintain e-commerce websites where customers can place an order. In conclusion, while online platforms can lead to the wastage of resources and affect the environment, they can generate employment opportunities in multiple fields such as the IT industry and courier services. Consumers should make wise choices when shopping on online websites to avoid impacting the environment.