Many countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers?

Due to the urbanization, most of the people start dwelling in the cities. An alarming increase in attempts to shift from the countryside to developed areas is often seen. There are several reasons such as money and healthy family life which will be elaborated on in the upcoming paragraphs along with the effects such as high prices of goods. There are multiple reasons for this transition. One of the main causes is the well-paying satisfactory jobs. Multinational companies are situated in urban areas and require skilled workers. Moreover, these firms offer handsome salaries and ensure a reliable source of income by providing work on a contract basis avoiding the chances of temporary layoffs. Furthermore, the more abilities and skills of the employees, the more would be paid. As a result, by earning a good salary, workers can secure a healthy and peaceful for themselves and family. Additionally, big companies provide flexibility in working hours by giving paid breaks and also facilities such as the option to work from home in case of any emergency. Not only this, but sponsoring annual trips, travel expenses, and other benefits. For example, health and education gains are also given to the employees which keeps them dedicated to their work. Regarding the effects felt by the urban residents, the most prominent impact is the lack of space. This not only drives the house prices but also the cost of essential items such as flour, rice, and other basic stuff which in turn forces people to live in congested space paying the same amount as earlier. For example, Accommodation prices in Hamilton rose from $600 in 2013 to $1000 in 2020, which is nearly double. As a consequence of inflation, it is difficult for existing residents especially lower-middle-class families to manage these expenses which ultimately give birth to poverty. A large of homeless are seen on the streets is the reason for this. To sum up, the primary cause is the industrialization in urban areas that offer good salaries and the effects are inflation and accommodation in these regions.