“Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to increase the length of the prison sentence. Other people, however, believe there are better methods to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.”

Many people feel that crime is increasing rapidly in our days. The communities are trying to enforce some restriction methods to reduce it, but many times have the opposite results. Community members spend a long time alone, having no construction with their immediate or extended family, or either with friends. Economic problems lead to alienation and many time as a result these population make crimes. In my point of view, societies must reduce the length of the prison sentence, and provide them, with the opportunity for social work. With that issue, the alienation of people and the rising levels of crime may decrease. Also, it will be a good effort, if prisoners have sections to talk about their problems with a psychologist. As an effect of that, the population will get socialist, see their mistakes and give an effort for being better and learn from their mistakes. On the other hand, prisoners feel that there is no reason to make an extra effort of being better, because when their prison sentence ends, they are going to get out, with no work, no family to care for them, and so no reason for not doing the same mistakes. Someone has to think outside of the box, make some steps forward, and reasonably think about, what will be the next day for prisoners, and not how to avoid them getting into jail. Finally, without empathy and the help of their communities and their beloveds, they can make some difference. In conclusion, I strongly believe that jail is not the right way to punish these people. We have to enrol them in a work environment if they are adults, or in a school if we talk about teenagers. With the support and strict reprimand, may get the right way and can be useful for their communities.