Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family-run business?

As an inevitable product of economic prosperity, the growing tendency towards operating family-owned companies has made a paradigm shift in the general employment mindset. Although its benefits, in the long run, can be pronounced, they are not without limitations. There are several advantages underlying this phenomenon. First, strengthening the family bond is one of the intangible merits of establishing a family firm. Since family members from different generation categories collaborate as a united entity to reach a consensus on employment strategies, it is conducive to enhancing mutual understanding within them. Second, not only act as an incentive for the potential heirs of the work, but family firms’ captivity towards tackling fiscal challenges also overruns their counterparts. When privacy in manufacturing processes and secret recipes are not leaked to a third party, family firms retain their monopoly position in a specific field which allows them to earn profit exclusively. However, family firms suffer from several downsides. By working on the same projects, it is susceptible to widening the generation gap when seniors with conservative viewpoints, which have always been overpowering based on our culture, will alienate younger ones. For instance, traditional methodology overdirecting the company’s framework may frustrate young employers with a sense of being disowned since nothing can be implemented against those solid principles. On the other hand, the reinforcement of family connection is vulnerable to inheritance processes. Even if there are practical measurements in determining the selector, bequeathing the whole family’s fortune to a single individual will raise rivalry, which has an adverse bearing on the firm intrinsic values. In conclusion, given the advantages of constructing a family-owned company, its limitations need to be fully conceived. By thoroughly examining shortcomings, a business can keep them at bay.