Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that the majority of kids are highly engaged in their devices for a variety of purposes for hours each day. Although the usage of smartphones among children bears some benefits, I believe that the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits and there are various reasons for the development of this trend. Children ’s excessive use of smartphones today for a range of reasons. Firstly, due to the lack of parental supervision regarding the time and purposes of children's phone use, led to kid’s tendency to glue their eyes to the screen to binge-watch all day. In fact, parents work with full- time schedules that hardly find enough time to control using devices of their offspring, which makes children resort to watching TV in their free time. Secondly, by increasing in virtual activities of education in schools, smartphones should be made students to study easier. This means that online learning has been more popular after Covid 19, students have been required to conduct their research and homework, then turn in assignments online through mobile technologies I believe that the disadvantages of screen addiction are even more significant. Their prolonged use can have detrimental effects on children's physical and emotional well-being. This means children are more likely to adopt a sedentary lifestyle when they use cell phones, spending less time playing outside and participating in physical activities, which results in chronic diseases like obesity, depression, eye diseases and many more. For example, according to the social media company of the Tiktok application, had 35% of children over 13 years old download this application and spend an average of more than 5 hours per day experiencing it. This is a dangered number that warns parents and the government against smartphone addiction. In conclusion, with the convincing argument mentioned above, many children are affected harmfully by excessive screen time. Parents need to take action to restrict their kids' smartphone use and to promote a more balanced approach to entertainment and exercise. By doing this, we can make sure that our kids are well-rounded, happy, and healthy as they grow up.