Many people say that in order to keep fit we should all join the gym. Some people, however, think that we can exercise at home and in parks. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that the gym is the sole place where people can improve their fitness level, whereas others believe that exercising outdoors or even at home is adequate. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that exercising outside the gym is far less stressful. It is certainly true that the gym often puts too much mental pressure on individuals to look good. For example, a few of my friends, who are overweight, recently joined the gym, but quickly terminated their membership contracts because they felt stressed out. They told me that almost everyone there looked lean and self-assured. Indeed, the gym can be a threatening environment to those who wish to exercise without feeling self-conscious. Thus, joining a fitness center is not sensible for many people who may be insecure about their weight or physical abilities. On the other hand, another group of people claim that one needs special exercise machines and state-of-the-art equipment to improve their fitness. They insist that people cannot exercise properly without employing a personal trainer, available at the gym. However, I am not convinced by this argument since most forms of exercise can be performed elsewhere too. Jogging, which is a cardiovascular exercise and recommended by doctors, can be done in parks. Also, people can engage in weight-bearing exercise such as push-ups and planks in the home. To conclude, in my view, we do not have to join the gym in order to be physically active. Some individuals could even be demoralized by going to a fitness center since they would feel the pressure to look attractive and strong. People, instead, can perform numerous exercise routines at home or in the park without the undue stress experienced at the gym.