Too much emphasis is put on going to university for academic studies. We should encourage people to have vocational education since there are not enough qualified businessmen, electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people underline the excessive importance of academic research in universities. Some people believe that we should encourage people to receive vocational education. I agree with this viewpoint. First of all, it is conducive to balancing the demand for talents in society. There is no denying that there has been a significant emphasis on academic education and attaining a university degree in today's society. While this emphasis can be credited to the desire for higher education and knowledge, it has also created a scenario where a considerable percentage of the population is pursuing academic education, leading to an acute shortage of qualified professionals in different vocational fields such as plumbing, electricians, and businessmen. While university-trained professionals have their benefits, vocational professionals are equally important and necessary for the smooth functioning of society. For example, skilled electricians and plumbers are essential for the smooth functioning of the infrastructure of our homes and offices. In addition, vocational education and training equip individuals with specific skill sets required for performing specialized jobs. Vocational education and training provide individuals with the necessary knowledge and skills required to launch their businesses, offering them the opportunity to be self-employed or to contribute to the economy. As such, there is a need to encourage people to go into vocational education and training to bridge the skills gap and to provide a range of career options. In conclusion, while academic education is vital for the development of an individual and society, there is also the need to emphasize vocational education and training. Encouraging people to pursue vocational education, specifically in fields where there is a shortage of skilled professionals, can positively benefit individuals, the economy, and society.