Some people think that products should be made to last as long as possible, while others think making the products cheap is more important. Discuss both views and express your own opinion.

It is asserted that the durability of products is of great importance. However, cost-effectiveness is a key factor that appears to have a number of proponents. I advocate the former group. On the one hand, some advocate the idea of more reasonably-priced products. To begin with, having a voracious appetite for shopping affordable goods, people encourage a consumer-driven manufacturing process by which production lines would be expanded. Under this circumstance, more job opportunities could be made and the wheels of industry will be kept turning. An obvious example of this is China, known for its mass production. Not only has it recruited many locals, but also an array of jobs have been developed around the world. Furthermore, supporters of affordable goods claim that class disparity could be less apparent. Simply put, all walks of life would be able to accommodate their needs even the proletariat whose desires have been suppressed. However, the longevity of goods takes priority in other people’s opinion. The first compelling reason is that a culture of consumerism would no longer be promoted. In other words, when products last for a long time, people, irrespective of their purchasing power, try not to give in to the urge to go shopping. This is clearly delineated in a society where the trend-led approach to purchasing fashion clothing is rejected and replaced by slow fashion, focusing on conscious buying and thoughtful purchases. Moreover, there is a strong correlation between built-to- last items and their positive impacts on the environment. To put it another way, the more sustainable material is used, the less environmentally damaging waste, such as plastic, would be dumped, leading to securing the future of our planet. To conclude, I would tend to side with those supporting longevity when it comes to purchasing. It seems to be unreasonable to put the environment in jeopardy by generating more waste and seems more logical to prevent the mass discarding of goods and consumerist culture.