More and more people want to study at university, so competition of university places is increasing. Why do more people want to study at university? Is it positive or negative?

Tertiary education is a valuable resource in many societies and the escalating number of applicants is strengthening its blessed status. In this essay, I will analyze the main reasons for this phenomenon and follow this discussion with critical comments on its influence on both individuals and the whole society. For present-day youngsters, a certificate of bachelor's degree is more than a qualification. Instead, it is a guarantee of a handsome salary,a promising career and even a higher social class. Colleges prepare graduates in job-seeking, with specialized skills and a diploma of a certain major, enabling them to be employed by prestigious enterprises. Besides the direct and visible benefits brought by university education, years of campus life are believed as a great opportunity to expand one's social circle and become insightful. Brains gather together and exchange their ideas, rendering every participant open-minded and future-oriented. Therefore, Universities, which are generally described as Ivory Tower, successfully attract millions of talents and are also the original place of countless groundbreaking ideas. Regarding the impact of the increasing popularity of attending university, I have to admit the benefits are evident while the risk of mindlessly pursuing a place given by those academic organizations should never be overlooked. As is aforementioned, studying in a college, especially those national-class or world-class one, facilitates access to the success of alumni. More importantly, a country will necessarily benefit from a growing number of well-educated youngsters,with corresponding higher productivity and lower crime rate. However, for those who are academically disadvantaged, this trend will inevitably put them in a catch-22. It can be observed that some of them are forced to further their study but not to pursue their real passion. Worse still, unemployment is another painful consequence brought by "college fever".It can be noticed that in many countries, the graduation season coincides with the unemployment season during the gradually losing competitiveness of university students. In conclusion, it is understandable that applicants spare no effort to win a place in their dream school, yet the profound influence needs to be critically and carefully analyzed.