Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often said that music is the best way to promote cohesion among people of diverse cultures and age groups. In my opinion, I totally agree with this point of view. To begin with, the reason why music can expel the barriers between different nations and cultures is because it is a source of cultural understanding. Through lyrics and melodies, music promotes communication, broadens our outlook on the world’s peoples, and helps us understand the world’s cultures and their diversities. Above all, it is a way of breaking down prejudices which isolate people from one another, affording opportunities for intercultural understanding. There are some songs that represent the ideas mentioned above, such as We Are All Alike written by Hap Palmer, and Under One Sky by Ruth Pelham, to name just a few. In addition, music can bond people of different ages. It can be explained by the fact that music does not need interpretation to be enjoyed and understood as it touches our hearts and resonates in our minds. No matter what language we speak or understand, we appreciate the melody and depth of music which is why people of all ages can sit together and enjoy the same music. For example, singing with toddlers creates a sort of communication between parents and children that helps build the foundation for effective interaction later in life. In conclusion, not only can music foster inclusion among cultures by delivering messages through its melody, but also build a strong connection between adults and young children.