Companies invest millions of dollars in advertising to persuade consumers to buy their products. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages for the consumer?

Nowadays, companies spend a large part of their budgets on advertisements to convince customers to buy their products. Whether or not it's a good thing for buyers is a moot point. In this essay, the potential benefits of advertising for consumers and its drawbacks will be discussed. The greatest plus point of promotes is that they give the chance to the consumers to get to know their options. That is to say, as all companies advertise their merchandise on social media a person as a buyer can notice different brands manufacturing the same products, which you may never get to know if you never happened to face its advertisement. Another major benefit of advertising is the competition it causes for industries to attract consumers. This results in commodities]ies with better quality which customers can benefit from. On the other hand, the most significant downside of doing so is that it will cause consumerism which can harm both people and nature. This means that, people being surrounded by adverts on social media and in real life will poke an uncontrolled desire in them to buy things they don't even need. Being a shopaholic can also cause nature destruction as most of the products are being manufactured with materials which are harmful to our environment. To sum up, as it's discussed above, advertisements can potentially have both pros and cons for people. Having weighed up its upsides and downsides, it seems to me that its negatives are far more important than its positives.