Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, commercial advertisement has become a vital sector in any business. Companies and institutions are investing millions of dollars in order to produce meaningful and attractive ads on different channels, like TV, social media, newspapers, or street posters. Some individuals argue whether the advantages overcome the disadvantages or vice versa. From my perspective, I strongly believe that advertisement merits over count drawbacks. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss them and reach a reasonable conclusion. To begin with, watching commercial announcements by potential customers may have some negative influence. One main downside is targeting vulnerable and soft heart customers. To clarify, if a child watched a colourful and attractive advert animation about certain toys or candies, they may have the desire to purchase them. This impact may not be only limited to young people but also may tackle other apparent weaknesses such as obesity, boldness, losing hair and other issues. For example, drugs and medics that are meant to solve one of the mentioned shortness may be attempted and worthy to be tried and tested. Moreover. this will eventually lead to another negative development, which is wasting money for the sake of testing and trying without any guarantee that this product will serve the needed purpose. On the other hand, those announcements may have some benefits if they are delivered wisely. For instance, governments can use them to spread awareness for the most important matters. A good example of that is the Ministry of Health (MOH) published a few short and formal videos during Corona pandemic. These clips were aimed to educate the community with instructions in case they were infected by covid-19. Furthermore, promoting new technology or creative products may help society to get familiarized with them. To illustrate, last year, after watching an ad in the Snap Chat app, I bought a smart spoon with a tech that empower the taste for sweetness and saltness, which helped me a lot to adopt a healthy lifestyle. To conclude, it is not hard to see that the main positive point of advertising is reaching a wide range of the population, which makes it easy for any institution to spread significant knowledge, While the major negative point is taking advantage of people with special needs. I totally think that advertising in general, if they have produced smartly, can have a positive development.