Some people believe that there should b fixed punishments for each type of crome. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of whether to have fixed punishment or individualized retribution has been a topic of debate for many years. Some people subscribe to the notion that there should be a fixed penalty for each type of scandal, while others advocate for individualized punishment based on the circumstances of the crime and the motivation for committing it. I uphold the view that individualized reprimand is necessary in order to address the area of concern and serve as a deterrent for future crimes.In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and share my own perspective on the matter. To begin with, those who advocate for fixed punishment believe that it provides a clear and consistent standard for justice. In other words, when someone embarks on criminal activity, they know exactly what the consequences will be if they are caught. For example, this takes the initiative away from potential criminals who might otherwise set out to commit a felony by dint of the uncertainty of the consequences. Thus, fixed retribution exerts influence on judges and law enforcement officials to ensure that they shoulder the responsibility of enforcing the law. Conversely, individualized punishment takes into account the specific circumstances of each crime and offender.It means that, this allows judges to play up mitigating factors and play down aggravating factors when deciding on a sentence. As an illustration, a first-time offender who has committed a minor crime may receive a lighter sentence than a repeat offender who has committed a more serious crime. Moreover, individualized punishment allows offenders to reap the benefit of rehabilitation programs and other forms of support that can help them turn their lives around. In my opinion, while there are certainly challenges associated with implementing individualized punishment, such as the difficulty of determining the appropriate punishment for each crime, I believe that it is a more appropriate and effective approach than fixed punishment. In conclusion, while fixed punishment may seem like a straightforward solution to crime, it is not always the most effective or fair approach. Individualized punishment is prevalent in many justice systems around the world and receives wide currency due to its effectiveness. While there are challenges associated with it, I believe that it is a more appropriate and effective approach than fixed punishment, which is rife with the potential for unfairness and injustice.