In some countries, some small town-center shops are going out of business because customers are shopping at large out-of-town stores. As a result, some people without cars have limited access to shops, and there may be an increase in the use of cars. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages

As a result of urbanization, urban areas are now surrounded by suburbs, which often feature large out-of-town shopping centres. Inevitably, these retail outlets are becoming attractive alternatives to small town-centre shops, leading to potential widespread car use. In spite of the possible benefits, I think there are more evident disadvantages to consider. It is true that large shopping malls especially those chain stores offer a wider choice of products and services with a more competitive price due to economies of scale. As more people go shopping there, the multi-faced development of the outskirts of cities, such as economy and tourism etc., will be promoted. This could mitigate migration to downtowns, thereby reducing urban population density. However, there are some highly undesirable effects of this development. For one thing, a growing preference for large department stores in the suburbs could run small-town shop owners out of business. Most large outlets are operated by enterprises that aim to maximize profits without considering any mercy for small shops. For another, it is imaginable that the desire to shop at suburban shopping malls could prompt the public to be more dependent on automobiles, thus resulting in the increasing number of car ownership and environmental pollution. This trend, eventually, could exacerbate congestion and, by extension, the growing demand for fuels and the damage to the environment. While people are struggling with severe problems caused by congestion and pollution in metropolises, we should not make the situation worse. To conclude, despite the advantages of establishing shopping malls on the outskirts of urban areas, shopping there does harm small businesses and indeed takes a toll on our society.