Many believe that being good at a sport is result of talent while others think that it comes from hard work. Discuss both views and give your reasons.

Some people argue that to be a good athlete it is enough to have talent, others say that sport is hard work and results come through persistent training. This essay will cover both options and I believe that work helps to achieve victories in sport. On the one hand, some skills can be useful in any sport but it will depend on the athlete because they will not benefit from their skills if the athlete does not train hard. Someone can train for many years and not achieve high results, even if able. The reasons may be laziness and not a serious approach. Usually, such sportsmen think that they are capable and therefore not exercising well enough. For example, I myself was in the same situation when I trained five years ago. Although I was lucky sometimes, on most occasions I could not achieve the needed results. To sum up, I believe that not only a talent but also a lot of training is essential to become good at any sport. On the other hand, I must admit that talent plays a big role in professional sports, especially at high levels. In some kinds of sports people's natural abilities may be very important in reaching high results. For example, in athletics, there are standards, such as height and long legs, which a sportsman should meet to be able to perform at competitions successfully. Another type of sport where inborn talents are important is chess, as without analytical thinking it is extremely difficult to compete with top-level players. Thus, talent can have a significant effect on sports success. In conclusion, I believe that although talent is really important, without persistent work it is incredibly hard to excel in sports, as even a talented sportsman needs plenty of training to develop his or her natural abilities.