In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, the controversy surrounding the importance of public health has been a prominent topic. Since a few years ago, smoking has been banned in some public places such as restaurants and museums and a lot of people think this trend exerts positive effects on societal well-being. From my perspective, I completely agree that smoking should be banned in public areas since it reduces the detrimental impacts on other people and also discourages smokers from smoking. To begin with, people who advocate the view of banning cigarettes in public places have their own justifications. Firstly, smoking bans have significant effects on public health. To be more precise, prohibiting smoking in public places reduces exposure to secondhand smoke, which is known to cause various health problems such as respiratory issues and heart diseases. For example, studies have discovered that after Ireland decided to ban smoking in all indoor workplaces, there was a significant decline in lung cancer and other lethal diseases among restaurant and pub workers, leading many other countries to adopt similar measures. Another point to consider is that smoking bans create a smoke-free environment and promote a healthier lifestyle by reducing the social acceptability of smoking. In other words, prohibiting smoking in public areas forces smokers to leave the company of everyone else if they want to have a cigarette. Most people dislike feeling ostracized, and this can act as an incentive to quit. For instance, research has detected that, social pressure brought about by smoking bans is often cited by ex- smokers as one of the important reasons they gave up the habit. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that by implementing and enforcing smoking bans in public places, we can protect public health. This prevents innocent people from developing health conditions caused by passive smokers and reduces the number of smokers.