Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a common belief that having a gap year before entering the university has negative effects on students who just graduated from high school. However, there is a more persuasive argument that this will positively affect students. On the one hand, taking one year break before starting college life will lower students ’ academic performance than others. Students who take a gap year would forget about how to study such as note-taking or writing a logical essay. This would widen the educational gap between other students who directly enter college without having a break. For example, recent statistics show that more than half of students who have a gap year tend to have low grades and struggle with their assignments and studying. Nevertheless. By taking one year off between graduating school and going to college would positively affect students in various ways. For one, through working, students could gain job experiences which could not achieve through courses and classes in universities. This can help students to be employed without difficulties after graduate from the university since they have rich experiences which make them adapt easily to work. Moreover, students can widen their thoughts and view by travelling. For instance, as they are able to experience different cultures and traditions in other countries, they might find out their new advantages or hobbies that may help them to decide their future. To sum up, while it is apparent that having a gap year might make students ’ grades to fall, in my opinion, it is undeniable that his my has positive effects since they can achieve plentiful experiences and widen their view.