In some countries today, many people decide to have their first child when they are older. What are the reasons? Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in certain nations, individuals tend to have their initial child at an older age. There are several reasons behind this phenomenon such as concentrating more on work, and guaranteeing a better condition to raise their children, and I believe that the negative impacts on family life and society are much more significant than its upside. There are various justifications to having children later in life. First and foremost, young adults have a desire to focus more on their work. This is due to the fact that the job market has become increasingly competitive and unforeseeable which demands young people to devote most of their time to working, reskilling, and acquiring new expertise. It is more important with some working people who aim to build their career and climb the career ladder. Another noteworthy reason is that they aspire the upbringing conditions of their child to be enhanced vastly. Some couples nowadays want to get better preparation in terms of both financial and mental stability so that their children will be properly and sufficiently nurtured and educated. However, I believe some disadvantages of delayed parenthood totally outweigh its advantages. Firstly, this tendency would create a huge age gap which means there are a number of variances such as beliefs, interests, and outlooks on life. Therefore, it is much more difficult for parents to bring up their children in a conventional way. Secondly, it seems unavoidable that women may suffer from various health risks such as miscarriage, high blood pressure, and diabetes during the period of pregnancy. Moreover, children easily experience some hereditary diseases such as Down or Turner syndrome. According to some scientific research, over 40% of children were born when their mothers turn over 35. In conclusion, it seems to me that there are a number of reasons behind this tendency to having children later in life such as focusing more on work and better living. However, I believe that some drawbacks including the generation gap and health problems overshadow its benefits.