The best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age of driving cars or motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As driving motor vehicles has gained greater popularity worldwide, how to improve road safety becomes a major concern in our society. Therefore, there is a view holding that the increasing age level of drivers could be the best way to solve the problem, which, although it may make sense in some aspects, is disagreed by my opinion. On the one hand, we should take the advice that increases the minimum legal age for driving cars or motorbikes into consideration. For one thing, if drivers are too young, they may lake the ability to self-control, thus making mistakes frequently. For instance, youngsters enjoy hanging out at pubs or restaurants, as a result of drunken driving, thereby becoming the main contributor to car accidents. For another, grow-ups are more aware of the repercussions of risky driving behaviours, because they have shouldered both societal and family responsibilities, which drives them to follow rules and regulations strictly. On the other hand, age is not the only indicator of traffic accidents. To begin with, a great number of collisions are caused by adults on account of careless driving habits or other factors, who are in their thirties, forties and even more. For example, over-speeding contributes to tens of thousands of casualties each year, many of whom are experienced. The reason behind it is not whether drivers are young or old, but because of carelessness or hurry-up schedules. Furthermore, the increasing number of cars and motorbikes is also a blame for road risks. As more commuters enjoy self-driving instead of taking public transport, it cannot only add pressure on transport systems but reduces the safety of driving on roads. In conclusion, reasons abound in traffic collisions, but the chief among them is not merely related to the minimum legal age of driving. Therefore, more measures should be taken to address the issue effectively and efficiently.