Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that the average life expectancy of citizens is increasing; therefore, one of the most repeated proposals is to raise the age at which workers retire. In my opinion, I completely disapprove of the policy of extending employees’ working lives for two main reasons. One reason for my disagreement is that this regulation might be counter-productive, thus affecting various economic activities. Some may argue that extension in terms of the working period could contribute enormously to the firms' achievements due to the prolonged employment's expertise and experiences. However, such a statement is flawed to me because employees' physical conditions are not guaranteed once they passed the age of 65 as they have a higher chance of suffering from chronic diseases. In peculiar industries, particularly, such as garment might exacerbate dermatological diseases or excessive joint pains for the labourers; therefore, a decline in productivity would be witnessed while salary and other expenses including social insurance, health care and training still increase once they are still involved in the system, which would result in a whole country's long-term economic recession. Another point for my argument is that this policy might lead to a range of unwanted consequences on an individual scale, which is associated with the downfall in each employee's quality of life. All workers have dedicated the most precious and alluring period of life for their career paths; as a consequence, it is sensible for the labourers to hold a desire to utilize their retirement for their own pleasures, to enhance the profound of their lives instead of having to continue the working days. An unreasonable obligation of working longer will seriously violate the individual's freedom of choice, additionally. In detail, during the working process, employees have to participate in social insurance and they always look forward to the day they receive their pension, which is also their legitimate rights recognized by law. In conclusion, I give my strong opposition to the idea of raising the legal retirement age based on two major consequences in terms of lower productivity and a violation of freedom of choice for the employees. Therefore, this tendency should be reconsidered before taking action.