Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world, people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, globalization has reduced the differences between countries. Some enjoy more companions sharing the same lifestyle and more profit for businesses, while others worry about loss of authenticity and uniqueness of their cultures and attractions. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this topic and provide my own opinion. To begin with, the major advantages of sharing a similar lifestyle can create a sense of community, regardless the geographical borders. People around the world can be bonded by having common interests. For example, fans of Taylor Swift from the USA often become friends with those from other countries. Another positive of this phenomenon is the opportunity for greater business profit. If similar habits are shared in the world, businesses will be able to extend internationally. Take the bubble tea business Gong Cha as an instance, Gong Cha has grown from Taiwan to Australia and other Western countries after the bubble tea culture became popular globally. On the other hand, the disadvantage of losing unique tradition and custom cannot be overseen. In many cases, some countries have lost most of their local stores and traditional rituals under the influence of globalization. For instance, the traditional eatery, Dai Pai Dong, in Hong Kong has been mostly replaced by international businesses like McDonald's and Pizza Hut in the last decade. The loss of authenticity will, as a result, lower the attractiveness for foreign visitors, who aim to experience a different style of living. Take Hong Kong as an example, many tourists have found Hong Kong disappointing with the increasing coverage of international brands,like LV and H&M, with only few local businesses still operating. In conclusion, it is undeniable that globalization has brought great positives like connecting people by sharing common lifestyle and generating greater business opportunities. However, in my opinion, the disadvantages such as loss of cultural authenticity and attractiveness to foreign visitors outweigh the advantages. Unless the countries value and promote their own cultures as much as accepting global influences, they will risk losing their cultural identity.