In some parts of the world, traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. Why is this happening? What measures could be taken to ensure they do not disappear?

Nowadays, most traditions and customs are fading from modern-day societies. The overwhelming lifestyle and disconnection between generations are contributing to the disappearance of many cultural celebrations. This essay will discuss the reasons for this and offer solutions to the issues. Firstly, the main reason for this problem is the change in lifestyles in most countries. In other words, most people are too busy for traditional rituals that may be expensive and time consuming. Take Hong Kong people as an example, e-cards and video calls have became popular to celebrate Chinese New Year instead of paying visits to other’s homes. As a result, the custom of celebrating and gathering together as family or community will disappear, unless the government encourages businesses to release their employees and encourages a more balanced lifestyle. Secondly, another main contribution to the issue is the disconnection between this generation and the past. Although history has been taught at school in many countries, very few can explain the meaning behind these old-fashioned customs. Take Christmas as an instance, the majority of the younger generations fail to understand the origin and purpose of the festival. While few understand the purpose of family reunion and celebration, most see Christmas as an excuse for consumerism. The way forward may be to connect young people with their cultural traditions by offering better historial education and increasing the exposure of these rituals on social media. In conclusion, the busy lifestyles, as well as the lack of connection between generations can lead to the disappearance of traditional celebrations and practices. However, with the encouragement from authorities and better acknowledgement to their own history, the problem will be improved, and it is possible to maintain these valuable traditions for the generations to come.