Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Is this a negative or a positive trend?

It is a well-documented fact that people tend to opt for having babies later in their life nowadays. This essay will analyze what the possible causes of the aforementioned trend are before explaining why the merits of giving birth late are outweighed by its drawbacks. There have been plenty of reasons for people to choose delayed parenthood. However, I suppose that the two following reasons are the most fundamental. First and foremost, parents would like to have stable finances before welcoming new members to their families. Obviously, in order to have a proper child’s nourishment, many kinds of expenditures are required, such as food and drinks, clothes AND diapers. Therefore, it is essential that parents have a job with ADEQUATE income to afford the expenses needed to bring up a child. Another noteworthy point is the problem of parental skills. Besides having a considerable amount of money, should parents wish for the best development of the babies, time is asked for them to grow maturely enough to be exemplary teachers for their offspring. Two sides of the trend should be thoroughly discussed before concluding whether it is a blessing. On the one hand, it is understandable why people state that delayed parenthood brings more advantages. The key rationale is mature parents can warrant qualities in children’s characteristics, which deserves to be put in priority. Only when parents have experienced life's ups and downs are they likely to offer their babies the greatest advice within their possibility. On the other hand, there are also a number of downsides. First of all, the more the women grow old, the weaker they will be in reproduction. Hence, aged mothers may be at stake of suffering from fatal consequences coming from giving birth like excessive bleeding or miscarriage. Furthermore, a big generation gap could occur. Accompanied with skillfully tutoring a child, old parents probably have to deal with differences in mindsets which parallelly cause obstacles for them to sympathize with their beloved offspring. Generally, full-grown parents are good, nevertheless, the problems of the mothers’ health and generation gap ought to be put in priority. In conclusion, I believe that people would like to have children late is mainly because of financial issues and parental skills and the positive repercussions associated with maturity ARE eclipsed by problems related to maternity’s health and generation gap.