Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices would help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the most pressing issues of the modern-day is air pollution which has been causing differences of opinion among the mass. Some critics argue investing extra in the public transportation sector and decreasing the charges for tickets would significantly reduce pollutants emission from transport. I believe there is a potential in this argument and it should be explored. Firstly, nowadays almost everyone relies on any means of transportation - be it a streetcar, public bus, subway train, or private vehicles. Although, private vehicles have been dominant in the last few years owing to their comfort, convenience of traveling, and safety. This is in comparison to public means of transportation which is likely considered risky, and uncomfortable. However, if the additional budget would be allocated, then the mass commute vehicles would likely upgrade their sitting arrangments, and perhaps the different and more frequent routes of travel enticing people to use public commutes. Secondly, along with the funds, if the prices would be reduced, then that would most probably increase the affordability for daily commute users who are unable to travel due to their lack of financial prospects. Reducing the price would be a certain way to attain their attention and increase the number of public commutes. It is for this reason, I believe the prices should be lessened to gain the desired results. In conclusion, in order to mitigate air pollution, an increase in public transportation numbers is vital, and investing an additional budget in the commuting sector along with a decrease in tickets would seem a wise investment.