Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repair old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that an excessive amount of money is being allocated to repairing outdated structures and those buildings should be replaced by new and modernized ones. I totally consent to this opinion and the following essay will discuss my point of view. To begin with, there are many reasons why the old structures should be removed including safety issues. Outdated constructions may cause many dangers to passersby, occupants and the neighbourhood because the safety level of the construction has decreased after many years. As an illustration, there are many reports on the media saying that people who live in apartments built more than 50 years ago in Ho Chi Minh City usually hear cracking noises between the walls and columns despite repairment annually. If those apartments collapse, many lives will be taken. This lead to the fact that the old buildings should be replaced as a matter of safety. Furthermore, in case of harsh weather conditions such as strong winds and storms or natural disasters such as floods or earthquakes, out-of-date constructions cannot guarantee the lives of people who live in them but the new and modern buildings are able to do so. For instance, the enormous earthquake that happened in the first months of this year in Southern Turkey took many lives and destroyed a myriad of houses and public properties, many documents reported that the buildings there are all old and poorly constructed. While constructions in countries where earthquakes happen annually namely Japan and Australia are modernized and adequately sustainable to natural disasters. As a result, such buildings are far safer than outdated structures, which can save many lives. In conclusion, money should be invested in constructing new structures due to the explanation above, not to mention the cost efficiency in the long-term period of this solution.