Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by many that working and travelling are the main reason for learning a foreign language, while others believe that there are more significant reasons for learning a new language. In my opinion, there are many reasons for learning a foreign language. On the one hand, some people say if individuals want to travel or work in another country, they should learn a foreign language. Some job positions need a full interaction between customers and staff, so a foreign person who wants to work has to know the language of the country because if he or she cannot speak with native people, misunderstandings might happen that cause loss to the company. For instance, in a job position like a salesperson, the employee has to always be in touch with customers and try to meet their requirements. Therefore, knowing the language of that country is very crucial. On the other hand, there are better reasons for learning a foreign language such as accessing reliable sources, and expanding the network. One of the most important reasons that people have to learn a foreign language like English is network expansion because knowing a foreign language provides so much opportunity for people in areas like business. For example, by using social platforms like Linkedin people can meet other people who are very professional in their field that can start business relationships with them. Accessing reliable sources is another reason. As we know, all sources are written in English, so if people do not know it, they lose great sources. In conclusion, the reasons for working and travelling are enough for people to learn a new language. However, network expansion and accessing reliable sources are great motivations to learn a foreign language. In my point of view, working and travelling is not a good impressions to learn a foreign language.