Watching TV shows and movies about crime is becoming more and more popular. Why is this? What effect does that have on society?

TV programs which present storylines about criminals and atrocities are gaining more attention and interest from the public views. In this essay, I mention the reason for this, which is mostly the psychological aspect of watching these genres of TV shows, in which people tend to receive the excitement they need from them. Furthermore, I believe that these series have almost no negative impacts on society rather than being addicted to overwatching them. Television programs that select atrocity as their main storyline have been appealing to the public since the beginning of the cinematic industry, however, they are starting to gain more attention in recent years. This is because as the public adapted to a sedentary lifestyle with monotonous office workplaces and no excitement, the urge for having an adrenaline rush is rising in society. These crime shows are one of the many ways to do so thanks to their thrilling plots and action scenes, which give exhilarating feelings to their audience. Take for example Breaking Bad, a Television series about an ordinary chemistry teacher, whose boring life and recently diagnosed cancer led him toward using his chemistry knowledge for cooking drugs. The storyline was appealing to the public and it reached success as a consequence of coming up with a plot which normal people can connect with. Moreover, the implications of these TV shows on society are mostly positive except for their attractiveness which can make people addicted to them. Many people contend that by following these violent pictures, individuals may pick up their violence or the ways of committing crime, albeit a recent study suggests that these types of programs have minimal effect on ordinary people's tendency to commit crime. Hence, watching crime shows do not have adverse effects on people apart from their desire to waste time on them. In conclusion, Television shows and movies representing a protagonist with crime desires are attracting more people due to their fascinating scripts and exhilarating senses which can compensate for individuals' lack of excitement. On top of that, these cinematic programs almost have no adverse impact on the public except for them being somewhat addictive.