“Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?”

The rapid development of technology is a growing concern for many public around the world. Governments are trying to apply policies on it but are failing successively due to its rapid transition and uncontrollable growth. It has provided various benefits but certain developments have raised concerns for the privacy of each person. We will discuss both sides with real-life examples below. Security and the latest news are prominent requirements for a citizen and devices like outdoor cameras and mobile phones are helping them achieve them. For example, most residential apartments are fitted with state-of-the-art security setups like cameras, RFID tags, badges, apps etc for the safety and security of the people living in that society. Any new event like a festival, promotion, or news of society is shared on their local app providing awareness to the people of their surroundings. Hence, the latest devices are helping the population to be secure and comfortable in the community. On the other hand, technology like deepfake, and user activity tracking without consent have provided criminals tools to make their job easier. For instance, a hacker can track a person's real-time movement and their daily routine which might help physical or cyber attack on them. Additionally, deepfake can produce artificial videos of a person with just a photo. These advancements are troubling for not only authorities but also for responsible citizens as they are difficult to detect. Thus, the latest advances are in some cases trouble for people. To conclude, technologies are tools, their effects are controlled by their user. It is beneficial when used for the development or building block for society but in the hands of,criminals it is a dangerous item. To create a better future for younger generations, proper policies need to be created which can reduce the dangers of technology.