In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that people live longer in developed nations. This essay looks at some of the problems arising from the phenomenon, and suggests some solutions to address these difficulties. As people live longer and the populations in industrialized countries get older, several problems can be anticipated. One of the main problems is that while more people in the country are retired from their work, there might be fewer working adults in society, and it could eventually cause the government to receive less tax. When there is not enough tax received by the government, the quality of social welfare will decrease, and working labour will need to pay more tax in the future. Moreover, with the increase in life expectancy, younger people need to spend more time and effort taking care of the elderly, and this will definitely be a huge burden for them. However, there are several actions that the government could take to solve the problems described above. Firstly, a simple solution would be to increase the retirement age, perhaps from 65 to 70. People nowadays are healthy enough to work longer. Secondly, the government could announce the policy of encouraging emigration, with more working labours, more taxes will be received to benefit society. Finally, more money should be spent on social welfare and infrastructure, such as healthcare systems and transport facilities. These would make the countries or the cities a better place for the elderly to live in. In conclusion, society might face some challenges with the increasing number of older people, yet there are several measures the government could take to deal with the situation.