In many developed countries, fast food is cheap and widely available. Many people tend to choose unhealthy options. Why do many people tend to choose unhealthy options? What can governments do to solve this problem?

In today’s busy world, many individuals choose to eat junk food from restaurants and takeaways, instead of cooking healthy meals in their homes. Numerous factors contribute to this behaviour, including price and the convenience of eating ready meals at restaurants. I believe that governments should take various steps to encourage people to eat healthily. One main reason why people tend to eat junk food is the cost. Food like hamburgers, chips and pizza are usually much cheaper than healthy meals that contain a lot of vegetables that you can eat in restaurants. To give a clear example, some of my friends and colleagues consume fatty foods daily at outlets because they can eat for less than 10 pounds and feel full. As a consequence, their chances of becoming obese are high. Another reason why people eat unhealthy food is the convenience of eating outside. Many employees work for a significant amount of time, five days a week, up to 9 hours daily. Understandably, these workers who are often exhausted prefer to get takeaways on their way home. As a result, they can spend their leisure time doing other activities, such as watching movies with family members or peers, rather than spending time cooking healthy meals. There are some solutions authorities can implement. Firstly, they can reduce the weekly working hours of employees to a maximum of thirty-five. By doing this, many workers will likely get time to cook food in their residences. For instance, in Norway, the nationals work fewer hours than in Britain, meaning they can spend time on food preparation in their domiciles. Secondly, authorities can lower the prices of healthy food. To illustrate, prices of fruit and vegetables are significantly higher than unhealthy food. In order to reduce food prices, governmental subsidies should be given to farmers. To conclude, eating junk food is becoming a growing habit in numerous nations because it is cheap and more convenient to eat unhealthy food at fast food outlets. To tackle this, governments should help workers to find time to cook healthy meals at home and reduce the price of healthy food.