Space exploration costs tax payers’ an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

Space exploration is one of the biggest achievements throughout human history because humans have curiosity about the universe and its origin because scientists want to look for other terrestrial life on other planets in the solar system. In this essay, I will elaborate on the benefits and drawbacks of this issue from various points of view. To begin with, space exploration will give a chance for humans to find a new better place to be inhabited amid global warming issues and climate changes on earth. Moreover, there is a possibility that the new source of energy can be found as an alternative energy to replace fossil fuels considered the main source of pollutants. Additionally, this project will create new job opportunities because it constitutes a massive project requiring many workforce and labour to devise and manufacture sophisticated technology to launch shuttles and satellites into space. However, this project requires an enormous budget to attain its mission. For example, NASA spent more than $100 billion dollars per year to finance its project and some people have opinions that the fund should be used to solve poverty and famine around the world. Furthermore, this mission also increases the air pollution in the atmosphere because they use fossil fuels to run the engines of spaceships, satellites and shuttles which eventually will lead to the acceleration of the global warming process. Besides, it will risk the loss of life for the astronauts during their mission when an accident occurred. Take an example when in 1986, Space Shuttle Challenger exploded and all crew died just in few seconds after being launched from the station. In conclusion, I contend that space exploration gives more negative consequences compared to its advantages. The large amount of money they spend to finance this project should be used to solve social and economic problems for a better future for humankind.