Some people feel that the cost of space exploration is far too high for the benefits it brings while others argue that we space programs should continue no matter what the cost. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Space has been a fascination for people around the globe for decades. To explore it and conquer it was always a dream for mankind. Currently, many countries are spending a large chunk of their budget on this dream and a few have become successful. However, a fraction of the population still believes that it is not worthy while some believe otherwise. I strongly agree that this invention should be kept for the future and the money should be used for the welfare of the common people. First of all, in the era of high inflation, it is necessary to focus on the basic needs of inhabitants instead of wasting it in other ways. Secondly, health, education and housing which are the main necessities of human beings are still far from reach in the majority of the world. For instance, according to the World Bank, 9.2% of the population is living below the poverty line. For them, having a meal a day is the biggest reason for happiness. Thus, the same currency, if used for this purpose will at least help in eradicating hunger from society. On the other hand, individuals supporting space exploration put forward the reason that it will open new doors of development for existing earth. Families can shift there as ample land will be available for inhabitation. New medical research is going on in the cosmos that will reveal remote sensing and information on different diseases through the study of immunology. For example, scientists will be able to read the relationship between the occurrence of malaria with weather changes. A lot of new satellite systems as well as GPS systems will be implanted to give us better insights into climatic changes with easy and faster connectivity across the universe. To conclude, I will say though both points of view are valid and justified, I would still like to opine that outer space study is not much beneficial considering the new world order. The pandemic has already shattered us to the core and we need to focus more on human well-being than before.