Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Considering the obesity crisis in a few developed countries, some argue that placing exorbitant prices on sugary food and drink products will discourage individuals from consuming them, resulting in lower health risks. This essay believes that the increased prices of manufactured food and drinks with high intensities of sugar are beneficial to the overall well-being of all people. First, this essay will demonstrate how expensive sugary products will prevent most individuals from purchasing them, and then, it will discuss how lower sugar consumption can lead to a healthier life. Since it has been proven that sugary products are one of the prime contributors to obesity, and are harmful to the overall wellbeing of our bodies, assigning a rise to their prices is fairly reasonable. Although these goods have a particular appeal to them, their damage to our lifestyle should not be disregarded. Not only do foods with high concentrations of sugar can cause weight gain, but they also bring about the risk of diabetes and cardiovascular disease. As only a negligible percentage of each society is wealthy enough to regularly splurge on exorbitant food and drinks, this action can motivate most consumers to remove such meals from their routine diet. There are various health benefits to decreasing sugar from your regular diet. While it can be difficult to get accustomed to a completely sugar -free diet, even a fair reduction can alter your health status. A lower consumption of carbohydrates can result in better skin, slower ageing, fewer risks of heart disease, and a more positive mentality. These changes can occur with the help of consistency and encouragement. However, it is argued that highly-priced sugary foods can turn them into status-determining commodities that are only accessible to the economically privileged classes. Although this may become true in the future, the advantage of a healthier life is worth the risk. When people stop using carbohydrates in their daily diet, their cravings for sweet tastes gradually decrease. Not only does this change in behaviour influence their welfare immediately, but it also becomes a motivation for removing other harmful substances such as salt from their regular intake as well. In conclusion, reducing the regular consumption of sugar is beneficial to all individuals, and therefore, raising the prices of sugary foods and drinks can be a viable option for leading consumers to a better life. It is recommended that people research the drawbacks of carbohydrates themselves in order to comprehend why this strategy is favourable.