Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people to these museums?

In many countries, the number of foreigners who visit museums and historical attractions often outweighs that of locals. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this phenomenon before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it. There are two primary reasons why the favour of museums and historical places among local inhabitants is on the wane. First and foremost, visitors from other nations are more concerned about the building structures or ancient items in historic relics as well as about the traditions and history of an alien culture. Because of this, these destinations are greatly less interesting to the indigenous dwellers who are already familiar with traditional stories or national customs. Furthermore, in underdeveloped nations, the underprivileged could not even pay for the entrance tickets. For example, the poor get by on tiny salaries, to say the least, just enough to cover their daily living expenses, so that, obviously, they cannot pay for the expensive costs of travel and fees to historical sites or museums. To boost local people's attendance rate at museums and historical destinations, the following essential steps should be taken. One remedy is that governing bodies should allocate state funding to the refurbishment of historical or exhibition facilities. To be more specific, they could redecorate both the exterior and interior as well as add new relics to make them more attractive and appealing, which could not only raise the number of nearby visitors but also give intention to domestic travellers. Another remedy is that the national authorities should provide financial aid. Specifically, they could pass some radical laws to let low-class inhabitants visit exhibitions or historical sites without paying fees, and this allows these citizens to learn more about their own culture or special events as well as strongly helps enhance patriotism and loyalty among the citizens. In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative tendency, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with this issue.