The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on alien planets. Some people think that the government is wasting money and should spend money addressing the problems of the public. To what extent do you agree?

In the hunt for life on alien worlds, some people feel that governments are overspending on programs they believe are wasteful in the face of pressing public issues. In my opinion, not only is the search for extraterrestrial life inexpensive, but the rewards are incalculable in the long run. For one thing, alien life programs don’t impact a government’s finances that much. The search for extraterrestrials is a low priority for many, so budgets are often extremely limited. Consequently, organisations rely mostly on public donations to survive. For example, the Search for Extra-Terrestrial Institute (SETI) is often looking for ways to extend its funding, and has shut down in the past when unable to cover operational expenses. A further point is that the search for alien life is often done through collaborative endeavours. In reality, most government efforts to detect ET are often conducted through arrangements between existing space agencies to save money. For instance, multiple space agencies use NASA-owned telescopes on the Hawaiian Islands to investigate possible signals from outer space. Finally, it should be noted that mankind is not simply hunting for ET. They are also searching for habitable planets. By looking for the right chemical conditions that may indicate the presence of life, mankind is also identifying planets that may one day be colonized by humans. As a result, humanity is preparing for the day when it may leave the Earth and satisfy the human urge to push frontiers and expand humanity. In conclusion, I believe that in the search for alien life, low priorities and limited budgets mean money is hardly wasted. In effect, via pooling existing facilities and international collaboration, science may one day make a discovery that will benefit the world, but at a zero-sum cost to the tax-payer.