Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and the governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The affordability of higher tertiary degrees has emerged as one of the topics of interest in society, especially when tuition fees are inexorably increasing. People believe that the government are responsible for the budget of the entire undergraduate level, regardless of students’ financial background. I personally hold an opposing opinion about this matter. This essay will provide further explanation as to why the government should not apply the free-of-charge college policy. First and foremost, it is understandable why people advocate the idea that the government should abolish college tuition fees for all students. Firstly, this policy allows everyone to pursue higher education levels, those who equip themselves with a degree will stand a chance for employment than those who do not. It is especially meaningful for underprivileged freshmen and their families. The regime is expected to relieve less well-off parents’ financial burden for their kids' pursuit of educational enrichment and create a better future for these families. Other than that, the elimination tuition fee policy creates a huge skilled human capital to bring to the workforce, which people trust will empower the country’s competence and attractiveness, it is imperative for a developing country to foster Foreign direct investment. The belief is that the policy will ultimately develop the nation’s socio-economic landscape. However, there are certain pronounced drawbacks if the regulators implement the free tuition fees regime. On the individual level, the scholars may lose their dedication and concentration in studying if they have no responsibility for discipline fees. An inevitable consequence is that academic performance as a whole will be deteriorated. On the societal level, it will put a financial strain on the government ’s coffers, leading to budget deficits, tax hikes, and reduced welfare among others and more crucial when it may have a negative effect on the nation’s long-term growth and sustainability strategies such as public infrastructures and transportations, or green development. In conclusion, when there are several advantages to the abolition of tuition fees, its disadvantages far surpass them. Therefore, the government should not waive tertiary tuition fees.