Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. to what extent do you agree with this view?

It is commonly believed that instead of investing huge amounts of money in the arts like music, and theatre the government should prioritize public services. In my opinion, I agree that the government should spend money on building hospitals, schools, and roads, however, that doesn' t mean investment in art is useless. One of the major concerns these days is the rise of the population in most countries. Hence, the Government should use the budget for public services like healthcare centres, educational institutes, constructing roads, and providing public transport. For instance, countries like India which has a huge population will also have a greater count of people who are below the poverty line, so the government can support them by building hospitals and providing free treatment, and giving scholarships to poor students so that they can achieve their goals and improve their quality of living and it will so improve countries economy in later years. In contrast, the government shouldn' t neglect the arts such as music, and theatre, which are basic forms of entertainment for the public. Art institutes don' t make much profit, because of the high prices of equipment, raw materials and maintenance of auditoriums for theatre. thus with government,funding they can maintain their institutes. For example, a few children might have a talent for singing, painting, and acting, but due to not having any solid platforms to present their skills to the world and not having the financial support to develop their talent they couldn' t pursue their dreams. Therefore, conducting art competitions and art galleries will be helpful to them. In conclusion,Allocating a significant portion of the budget to improve citizens' health and education will contribute to the country's future growth, but aiding arts can give life to a section of the community.