Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Maintaining libraries for public visitors costs a great amount of money. Although there are a few reasons why people want to read on a digital device instead of going to libraries, there are more reasonable grounds that these places are still needed and should be maintained well. There might be some reasons why digital technology can replace physical libraries. One important reason is that online sites created using this technology are where people can find more books than they do in most local libraries. For example, there are about 30 million books for sale in the Amazon bookstore, compared with only about a million in the Vietnamese National Library. Another reason is that readers using a digital device have various forms of assistance, such as the “search” function. Using it, readers can find any specific word or phrase they want in a long book, which saves them a great amount of time if they are scanning for information in that book. However, there is stronger evidence that people should keep maintaining public libraries. One explanation is that these places are where people read paper books in rooms with good lighting. This activity is often not as harmful to the eyes as reading on a digital screen which is often too bright to look at for an extended period of time. In addition to this, public libraries are where readers can enjoy a better reading experience. This is because unlike readers in a library who can better focus on their books, those who read on a computer might be easily distracted by notifications from social network applications such as Facebook. In conclusion, while computers can replace traditional libraries in a few aspects of reading, there are more compelling reasons why libraries should be kept. It is recommended that people invest more money to upgrade such places in order that visitors can enjoy even better reading experiences.